Senate confirms Scott Pruitt as EPA head over Democratic objections

The Senate confirmed President Trump's nominee for the head of the Environmental Protection Agency, Scott Pruitt, 52-46 on Friday. Two Democrats crossed party lines to vote for Pruitt: Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (N.D.) and Sen. Joe Manchin (W.Va.). One Republican, Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine), did not vote for Pruitt.

In a last-ditch effort to block the confirmation of Pruitt, many EPA employees had even resorted to calling their senators. Most Democrats had fiercely opposed Pruitt's nomination,...


What feeling does this article give you?

#hashtags to follow:

Senate [+]    President Trump [+]    Environmental Protection Agency [+]    Scott Pruitt [+]    Democrats [+]    Pruitt [+]    Sen [+]    Heitkamp [+]    Manchin [+]    Collins [+]    Maine [+]    EPA [+]   

More #news: